Untitled Document
Sydney International Open

       More Info
Entry Fees

Open Division:

FIDE Rated: $160

FIDE Unrated: $225

Challengers Division:

All Players (U1900 ACF): $100

Parramatta Town Hall, Church Street, Parramatta NSW Australia

Novotel Hotel

350 Church St, Parramatta NSW 2150
02 9630 4999 or email: H8787@accor.com

The Holiday Inn

18-40 Anderson St, Parramatta NSW 2150
02 9891 1277 or email: reservations@clariononthepark.com

Rules & Conditions
Tournament Regulations
1. This 9-round individual chess tournament is open to all players and will be ACF and FIDE rated.
2.  The tournament is an ACF Grand Prix Class 5 event.
3.  The Swiss Manager program will be used for pairings.
4.  Time control is 90 minutes for the first 40 moves followed by 30 minutes for the rest of the game plus 30 seconds per move from move 1.
5. Any player who arrives at the chessboard more than 30 minutes after the start of the session shall lose the game unless the arbiter decides otherwise.
6.  All mobile phones and electronic devices are banned in the tournament hall.
7. There is no analysing at the board.
8. All NSW resident players must be full members of (or join) the NSWCA or NSWJCL.
9. Players removing equipment from the tournament hall will be withdrawn from the tournament.
Appeals and the Appeals Committee
In the case of an appeal against an arbiter’s decision, the tournament director will form an appeals committee consisting of 3 players from the Open tournament. These players will be chosen for their impartiality and their knowledge of the rules of chess.
Conditions for titled players
1. The first 10 Grandmasters to register will be provided with free accommodation (twin share).
2. Tournament entry is free for GMs, IMs, WGMs, WIMs.
3. All other players are required to budget for their own board, lodgings and entry fees.
4. All players are required to budget for their own transport costs including airfares.
Previous Winners
Year Winner Results
2013 GM Loek Van Wely Results
2012 GM Vajda Levente Results
2011 FM Akshat Khamparia Results
2010 GM Dejan Bojkov Results
2009 GM Darryl K Johansen Results
2008 GM Surya Shekhar Ganguly Results
2007 GM Georgy Timoshenko & GM Dejan Antic Results

Untitled Document